<body><script type="text/javascript"> function setAttributeOnload(object, attribute, val) { if(window.addEventListener) { window.addEventListener('load', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }, false); } else { window.attachEvent('onload', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }); } } </script> <div id="navbar-iframe-container"></div> <script type="text/javascript" src="https://apis.google.com/js/platform.js"></script> <script type="text/javascript"> gapi.load("gapi.iframes:gapi.iframes.style.bubble", function() { if (gapi.iframes && gapi.iframes.getContext) { gapi.iframes.getContext().openChild({ url: 'https://www.blogger.com/navbar/7462417755930001599?origin\x3dhttp://x3volleyball.blogspot.com', where: document.getElementById("navbar-iframe-container"), id: "navbar-iframe" }); } }); </script>

About Me
* me
+ YIHUI:D
240494 <3
+ Email Me

Bloggers
* connections
Volleyball Association Singapore
Beijing Olympics Volleyball
Facebook
Friendster
Crystal(: 6B'06-Nanyang Girls High
Wei Ren :D 6B’06-Hwa Chong Institute
Jessica :D 6C’06-Xinmin Sec

RGTT <3
ChLoE lEw:D
Elaine
Hai Qing
Hanzhen ;D
Lilin
Ling Yue
Sherry :D
Si Ling
Sylvia
Wan Xiu
Weilin
Yi Yun
Ying Na
Si Min
CHERYL TAN <3
therese ho! <3
liting

Websites
* tagboard!





Tuesday, July 8, 2008


gah, i'm getting confused ): wad the heck is this powerpoint trying to say huh?
The point of no return

(10-4-penalties 1 – 4) p. 42

1. Unnecessary delay is charged to the offending team when an illegal libero replacement takes place prior to the whistle/signal for serve. If identified after whistle/signal for serve, illegal alignment results (loss of rally/point). In all cases, the illegal libero must enter legally or be replaced by a legal player.
2. For the serving team, any points known to have been scored during a term of service in which an illegal libero is discovered in the game, shall be cancelled.

3. For the receiving team prior to the contact of the serve by the opposing team, all points earned during the previous term of service by the violating team while the illegal libero was in the game, shall be cancelled.

4. After the serve has alternated and the first serve is contacted, there shall be no cancellation of points.
Rule 10 Substitution and Libero Replacement (Page 41)
Section 4 Libero Replacement

Art. 1…Procedures for libero replacement:
a. The libero designated on the lineup for that game is allowed to replace any player in the back-row position. The libero may serve in one position in the serve order.

b. The libero may only be replaced by the player whom he/she replaced.
Rule 8 The Serve (Page 31)
Section 1 Definition
Art. 5…A re-serve shall be called when the
server releases the ball for service, then
catches it or drops it to the floor….

A re-serve is considered to be a part of a
single attempt to serve. Therefore, after the
referee’s signal for service, no requests, e.g.,
time-out, service order, lineup, substitution,
libero replacement, etc. may be recognized
until after the ball has been served.
Rule 6 The Team: Composition and Positions (Page28)
Section 3 Player Positions
PENALTIES:
Illegal alignment …
2. For an improper server or illegal
replacement found in the game, loss of
rally shall be awarded as soon as
the improper server or illegal replacement
is discovered and verified.

a. When an improper server is discovered
prior to the contact of the first serve by the
opposing team, all points earned by the
improper server shall be cancelled.


b. When an improper server is not
discovered until after the serve has
alternated and the first serve has been
contacted, there shall be no cancellation
of points, and no penalty is assessed.

c. Proper serving order as written in the
scoresheet shall be regained immediately
Points of emphasis—libero (p. 48)

Unnecessary delay or illegal alignment for replacement—Unnecessary delay is charged to the offending team when an illegal libero replacement takes place before the next service contact. If the illegal replacement is found in the game after service contact, illegal alignment results. The libero replacement must take place before the whistle/signal for serve if it is to be considered legal.
Libero allowed to serve

The libero may replace the player in the right back position in the service order. The libero may only serve in one position in the serving order. If the libero is in the game immediately prior to moving to a serving position, there does not have to be a rally between the libero replacements if the libero serves the next rally.
10-4-1f and 10-4-2c
The libero replacement shall be completed prior to the whistle/signal for serve. In both rules, the libero replacement must take place during a dead ball and prior to the signal for serve. This will allow the assistant scorer to record the replacement, the scorer to be alert if the libero is to serve and the official to turn all of his/her attention to the serve and not be distracted by a late replacement and possible delay in the flow of the game.
10-4-Penalty 1
An illegal libero replacement shall result in one of two penalties based upon when the illegal replacement is identified by the officials. When an illegal replacement attempts to enter the game and is detected before the signal for serve, an unnecessary delay is charged the offending team. An illegal replacement detected in the game any time after the whistle/signal for serve is given by the official until the next dead ball shall result in illegal alignment and loss of rally/point is awarded to the opponent. This distinction in penalties more accurately reflects what is occurring in the game and prevents poor procedure by not having a timely replacement detract from the flow of the game.

8-1-5
This change clarifies that since a re-serve is considered one attempt to serve, a libero replacement may not take place during the re-serve as there has not been a rally.

6-3-2e
Now permits the libero to serve in one position in the serve order. The libero may replace one player in the right back position to serve. It is acceptable that if the libero is already in the game immediately prior to moving to the right back position to serve, the next rally there does not have to be a rally between libero replacements.
 
5-6-3c, 9-5-6d, and 10-4-1 a & c
With the addition of the libero being allowed to serve, several other rules were affected. Rules relating to replacement, responsibilities of the assistant scorer and libero player action have been changed to accommodate the libero serving.

Situation 4: The libero for Team R has not yet served in the current game. The libero has replaced player #5 and is playing in the left back position. Team R wins a rally and rotates, moving player #8 to the serving position. The libero goes to the service zone, player #8 exits the court over the sideline between the attack line and the end line, and player #5 returns to the court to the left front position. The official (a) whistles/signals for serve; (b) whistles/signals delay of game; (c) whistles/signals illegal alignment. RULING: (a) correct procedure, (b) and (c) incorrect procedure. COMMENT: These player exchanges are all legal and if they are executed in a timely fashion, there is no delay of game. The libero may serve in one position in the serve order. (10-4-1a) There does not have to be a rally between libero replacements if the libero serves the next rally. (10-4-6a,b)
Situation 5: The libero for Team A has replaced player #3 in position No. 1 and has served two points. Player #3 returns to the game to replace the libero and serve the next rally. The libero stays on the court to replace another back-row player. The officials (a) intercede to correct the situation, whistle/signal delay of game; (b) allow the replacement, whistle/signal Team A/player #3 to serve at which time the illegal replacement is identified/verified and the officials whistle/signal illegal alignment and award the rally/point to Team B. RULING: (a) correct procedure, (b) correct procedure. COMMENT: The officials’ judgment comes into play in this situation as they must determine what is occurring in this game. As is stated in the COMMENTS ON THE RULES, “This distinction in penalties more accurately reflects what is occurring in the game and prevents poor procedure by not having a timely replacement detract from the flow of the game.”
Situation 6: Player #8 for Team S is rotating to the right back to serve. The coach for Team S requests a substitution, #10 for #8. Player #10 serves, and Team S loses the rally. The libero for Team S then replaces player # 10 and plays the back-row positions. When the libero rotates to the front row, (a) player #8 replaces the libero; (b) player # 10 replaces the libero; (c) player #10 replaces the libero, moves to the substitution zone while player #8 leaves the bench area, enters the substitution zone and substitutes for player #10. RULING: (a) Incorrect procedure; (b) and (c) correct procedures. COMMENT: The libero must be replaced by the player whom the libero originally replaced.(10-4-1b) If an incorrect player replaces the libero, delay of game is assessed if the error is discovered by the officials before the next whistle/signal for serve. If the incorrect player is on the court when the whistle/signal for serve occurs, illegal alignment results.

Situation 7: The Team S libero is on the bench and has not served in this game. Before the referee whistles/signals for serve and while player #5 is in the service area, the coach instructs the libero to serve for #5. The libero and #5 exchange positions at the end of the court. Neither player crosses the sideline between the attack line and the endline. The officials whistle/signal delay of game. RULING: Correct procedure. COMMENTS: The players involved in a libero replacement must enter and exit the court over the sideline between the attack line and the endline so that the assistant scorer (libero tracker) is able to observe and record all libero replacements accurately so the libero tracking sheet reflects the players actually on the court at all times.

Situation 8: The Team S libero has served in the current game in position three (in replacement of starting player #5). Later in the same game, the libero comes from the bench to replace starting player #7, who is just rotating to the right back position and prepares to serve. The officials are aware that the libero cannot serve in this second position. The official (a) whistles/signals illegal alignment; (b) whistles/signals for serve, waits for the contact of the serve by the libero and whistles/signals improper server; (c) whistles/signals delay of game. RULING: (a) and (c) Incorrect procedures; (b) correct procedure. COMMENTS: There is nothing improper or illegal about the libero coming from the bench to replace a back row player. The officials should treat this situation as any other potential wrong server—wait until the contact of the serve before assessing illegal alignment/improper server. Once the penalty is assessed, the libero can remain on the court in replacement of #7 as a rally has occurred.
Situation 10: The libero (a) while playing the center back position is standing closer to the net than the center front player at the moment of contact of the serve; (b) during the same dead ball--exits the court from the left back position, briefly sits on the bench, re-enters the court in replacement of the center back player; (c) is not listed on the lineup sheet for the second game. RULING: (a) Illegal alignment; (b) Illegal libero replacement; (c) Failure to list the libero number on the lineup sheet results in no libero for that game. COMMENTS: (a) At the moment of serve: All players, including the libero, shall be in correct serving order. Each front-row player shall have at least part of one foot touching the floor closer to the center line than both feet of the corresponding back-row player. (6-3-3b) (b) One libero replacement may be exercised per dead ball unless the libero is replacing the player in the right back position and will serve the next rally. (10-4-1c) (c) If the libero is not listed on the lineup sheet, he/she cannot play that game. The libero, when used: must be designated on the lineup sheet prior to each game.(6-3-2a)

OH MY GOSH. i'm suppose to understand everything. and i dont. its either i suck at english or i suck at understanding stuff. or both =(



Design by Joo